2010 Kawasaki Team Green Race of Champions – Race Report

Old Bridge Township’s Raceway Park
Decotis and Spangler Collect KROC Green
by Scott Lukaitis
Rain, rain go away. Racers that got to New Jersey early in the week to attend the 34th annual Kawasaki Team Green Race of Champions were looking to the skies just waiting for it to stop. Torrential rains showered the track up until Friday night but when racing began on Saturday the track was in excellent condition due to hard work of the Raceway Park Staff.
Saturday’s racing action was for Amateur, Mini and Vet Class racers and the action was intense in all classes. The Top Amateur racers were Luke Renzland and Joey Peters each with 3 class victories while Brandon Hartranft was the top mini bike racer taking 2 class victories.
Sunday’s racing action was reserved for the Expert Classes with the 250 and 450 Pro classes taking the stage. Three special intermission events were held during day to keep the crowd on their feet with non-stop action. Long time professional racer John Dowd took advantage of Kawasakis’ contingency program by beating Raceway Park Regular Barry Carsten in all 3 Vet Expert Classes.
Racing began with a one-lap dash for cash. With $300 on the line for the holeshot and $500.00 on the line for a win there was sure to be some banging going into the 180 degree first turn. Local star Dakota Kessler got there first but went in to hot and Jimmy Decotis and Jacob Hayes snuck in on the inside. With his feet off the pegs Decotis grabbed the holeshot but Hayes was quickly by. Decotis held tight onto Hayes’ heels but went down in the center of the track allowing Hayes to take the win and the cash, not to mention a free Traxxas RC car courtesy of the gang at Traxxas.
250A class action was all Jimmy Decotis as the Massachusetts privateer won the overall with a perfect 1-1 score. He was followed in moto 1 by Hayes and Joshua Clark and in moto 2 by Clark and Taylorl Futrell. It was Decotis, Hayes and Futrell for the top 3 overall.
450A class action was Hayes, Decotis and Lowell Spangler 1-2-3 in moto 1 while Spangler, Futrell and Kessler were 1-2-3 in moto 2. Overall it was Spangler, Futrell and Decotis.
The 3 special intermission events were held in between the 250 and 450 a motos with Jake Beaudoin winning the Town and Country Kessler Cup for 65cc racers, Mitchell Harrison was the winner of the Mt Holly Mini Cycle Shootout for 85cc racers and Joey Peters taking the Monmouth Cycles Ironman Classic for Amateur class racer
125 2 Stroke: 1. James Coen (Kaw); 2. Jon Borrello (Yam); 3. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 4. Ryan Dowd (Kaw); 5. Matthew Mangine (Suz);
25+ Amateur B: 1. Billy Kibler (Kaw); 2. Rob Novak (Hon); 3. William Smith Jr (Kaw); 4. Thomas Greenhoe (Yam); 5. Michael Biondo (Hon);
25+ Expert A: 1. John Dowd (Kaw); 2. Barry Carsten (Suz); 3. James Evans (Kaw); 4. Michael Treadwell (Kaw); 5. Scott Sheak (Kaw);
25+ Novice C: 1. Michael Iengo (Hon); 2. Junior Gutierrez (Kaw); 3. Peter Cook (Suz); 4. Aelcon Santos (Yam); 5. Wesley Santos (Kaw);
250 Amatuer B: 1. Luke Renzland (Yam); 2. Chris Canning (Kaw); 3. Nick Fratz Orr (Hon); 4. Michael Shea (Kaw); 5. James Coen (Kaw);
250 Novice C: 1. Sean Baxley (Yam); 2. Keith Pierce (Hon); 3. Ryan Hernandez (Hon); 4. Michael Ward (Kaw); 5. Adam Scicchitano (Suz);
250 Pro/Expert A: 1. James Decotis (Hon); 2. Joshua Clark (Yam); 3. Jacob Hayes (Kaw); 4. Taylor Futrell (Hon); 5. Jason Brooks (Yam);
30+ Amateur B: 1. Rob Novak (Hon); 2. William Smith Jr (Kaw); 3. Tommy Keech (Kaw); 4. Marcello Vasquez (Hon); 5. Dean Mauro (Kaw);
30+ Novice C: 1. Michael Iengo (Hon); 2. Albin Jimenez (Hon); 3. Aelcon Santos (Yam); 4. Peter Cook (Suz); 5. Carlos Fontanez (Hon);
30+ Vet Expert A: 1. John Dowd (Kaw); 2. Barry Carsten (Suz); 3. James Evans (Kaw); 4. Michael Treadwell (Kaw); 5. Scott Sheak (Kaw);
40+ Senior Amateur B: 1. Patrick Muro (Hon); 2. Dean Mauro (Kaw); 3. Mark Palmisano (Kaw); 4. Anthony Maladra (Kaw); 5. Thomas Griffin (Suz);
40+ Senior Expert A: 1. John Dowd (Kaw); 2. Barry Carsten (Suz); 3. Michael Treadwell (Kaw); 4. Gaylon Dickson (Kaw); 5. James Mcilvaine (Yam);
40+ Senior Novice C: 1. Jochy Gomez (Ktm); 2. Robert Mazzei (Yam); 3. Raymond Dobbin (Kaw); 4. Eloisio Faria (Suz); 5. Mark Kozik (Kaw);
45+: 1. Larry Harper (Suz); 2. Edward Olsen (Hon); 3. Marc Ossman (Ktm); 4. Anthony Maladra (Kaw); 5. Leslie Pepper (Hon);
50cc 4-6 Stock: 1. Reed Cooper (Cob); 2. Austin Kapoukranidis (Cob); 3. Dominic Amilcare (Cob); 4. Deegan Harper (Ktm); 5. Chris Sweeney (Cob);
50cc 7-8 Stock: 1. Daniel Congdon (Cob); 2. Joseph Cortigiano (Ktm); 3. Jordan Jarvis (Oth); 4. Benjamin Intili (Ktm); 5. Rob Morgan (Cob);
50cc Open 4-8: 1. Jordan Jarvis (Oth); 2. Austin Kapoukranidis (Cob); 3. Reed Cooper (Cob); 4. Benjamin Intili (Ktm); 5. Dominic Amilcare (Cob);
65cc 10-11: 1. Jake Beaudoin (Ktm); 2. David Milana (Ktm); 3. Trevor Pritchard (Ktm); 4. Ezra Miles (Ktm); 5. Savion Terry (Kaw);
65cc 7-9: 1. Devin Kusmider (Ktm); 2. Scott Byron (Ktm); 3. Justin Beaudoln (Ktm); 4. Brian Borghesani (Ktm); 5. Steven Moquin (Ktm);
85cc 12-15: 1. Justin Cooper (Yam); 2. Ryan Dowd (Kaw); 3. Joseph Galbraith (Suz); 4. Nathaniel Page (Kaw); 5. Keith Pierce (Ktm);
85cc 9-11: 1. Brandon Hartranft (Yam); 2. Jake Beaudoin (Kaw); 3. Mitchell Harrison (Kaw); 4. David Milana (Hon); 5. Peter Davis (Suz);
College Boy (14-24 years): 1. Joey Peters (Yam); 2. Taylor Futrell (Hon); 3. Jacob Hayes (Kaw); 4. Dakota Kessler (Yam); 5. William Shatrau (Hon);
Junior Mini (9-13 years): 1. Brandon Hartranft (Yam); 2. Tyler Kirschner (Suz); 3. Mitchell Harrison (Kaw); 4. Michael Giovanniello (Ktm); 5. Jake Beaudoin (Kaw);
KROC Dash for Cash: 1. Jacob Hayes (Kaw); 2. Taylor Futrell (Hon); 3. Dakota Kessler (Yam); 4. Robert Marshall (Suz); 5. Broc Schmelyun (Kaw);
Monmouth Cycle Ironman Classic: 1. Joey Peters (Yam); 2. Luke Renzland (Yam); 3. Nick Desiderio (Kaw); 4. Chris Canning (Kaw); 5. Nick Fratz Orr (Hon);
Mt Holly Mini Cycle Shootout: 1. Mitchell Harrison (Kaw); 2. Nathaniel Page (Kaw); 3. Ryan Dowd (Kaw); 4. Tyler Kirschner (Suz); 5. Brandon Hartranft (Yam);
Open 4 Stroke: 1. Joey Peters (Yam); 2. Broc Schmelyun (Kaw); 3. Austin Phelps (Kaw); 4. Kody Renzland (Yam); 5. Kyle Willis (Kaw);
Open Amateur B: 1. Joey Peters (Yam); 2. Nick Desiderio (Kaw); 3. Chris Canning (Kaw); 4. Derek Fratz Orr (Kaw); 5. Michael Shea (Kaw);
Open Expert A: 1. Lowell Spangler (Kaw); 2. Taylor Futrell (Hon); 3. James Decotis (Hon); 4. Joshua Clark (Hon); 5. Dakota Kessler (Yam);
Open Novice C: 1. Adam Scicchitano (Suz); 2. Ryan Hernandez (Hon); 3. Michael Ward (Kaw); 4. Donnie Cashin (Yam); 5. Christopher Knight (Suz);
Schoolboy (12-16 years) 2-str: 1. Luke Renzland (Yam); 2. Jon Borrello (Yam); 3. Michael Pettit (Yam); 4. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 5. Sean Shepard (Kaw);
Schoolboy (14-16 years) 4-str: 1. Luke Renzland (Yam); 2. Nick Fratz Orr (Hon); 3. Kevin Tompkins (Kaw); 4. Robert Piazza Jr (Kaw); 5. Michael Pettit (Yam);
Supermini 12-16: 1. Alexander Odell (Suz); 2. Michael Giovanniello (Ktm); 3. Austin Toskov (Yam); 4. Jon Borrello (Yam); 5. Ryan Dowd (Kaw);
Town & Country Kessler Cup: 1. Jake Beaudoin (Ktm); 2. David Milana (Ktm); 3. Trevor Pritchard (Ktm); 4. Devin Kusmider (Ktm); 5. Ezra Miles (Ktm);
Women (16+up): 1. Marissa Markelon (Kaw); 2. Sade Allender (Kaw); 3. Jenna Smith (Kaw); 4. Sonia Williams (Hon); 5. Nikkiann Stewart (Suz);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.