2010 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross Schedule Announced

Feld Motor Sports℠ announced today the 2010 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, schedule that begins January 9 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., and concludes May 8 at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium. Since its beginning in 1974, Monster Energy® Supercross has played in some of the world’s largest markets and most prestigious venues, and the 2010, 17-stop season adds to the sport’s rich heritage.

“The 2009 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was arguably the best season of all time, combining parity on the track and drama off the track, and we expect 2010 to build off of that excitement,” said Charlie Mancuso, president, Feld Motor Sports. “The championship will continue its rich history at many of the legendary stadiums that have made Monster Energy® Supercross so strong, in addition to the new tour stop at the new state-of-the-art Cowboys Stadium.”

The newest addition to the tour will be the inaugural stop at the new Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, which is a short drive from the old Texas Stadium. Monster Energy® Supercross held its first race at Texas Stadium in March 1, 1975 with subsequent races through 1977. From 1983-2008, Texas Stadium was one of the marquee stops on the Monster Energy® Supercross schedule. With the establishment of the new Cowboys Stadium, a new area of tradition will be built off of the historic 30 races held in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

President and CEO Rob Dingman of the AMA added: “AMA Supercross is the premier competition of its kind on the planet. The AMA is pleased to once again be working with the FIM and Feld Motor Sports for the 2010 season to provide the world’s stage where the best-of-the-best will battle for championship honors. Since the beginning, AMA Supercross has grown in stature and significance. Today, the consolidated championship attracts the top riders from all over the globe. It’s going to be another incredible season of competition.”

“Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, can bow on a glorious past which results in the rich history it presently has,” said Wolfgang Srb, President of the FIM Motocross Commission. “We are proud to count Monster Energy® Supercross amongst the 49 FIM World Championships. The 2009 season was most entertaining and kept the fans thrilled until the end. The FIM considers 2010 as a transition year and is confident that Feld Motor Sports will export Monster Energy® Supercross to new international horizons as of 2011. The fans that are supporting Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship worldwide deserve it.”

After a successful 2009 return to Salt Lake City, Monster Energy® Supercross will bring the action back to Rice-Eccles Stadium May 1. With the loyal support and commitment from the Utah Sports Commission, Monster Energy® Supercross will make its sixth stop at Rice-Eccles Stadium.

“After looking at the 2010 AMA Supercross schedule, it’s exciting to see where we will be competing at next year,” said 2009 Monster Energy® Supercross champion James Stewart. “Most of the events will be similar to last year, but this year we’re going to go to the new Cowboys Stadium, and it’s the newest and biggest stadium in the United States. It’s going to be fun to compete in the billion dollar Cowboys Stadium. Also, I look forward to returning to the venues that I created winning memories at during the 2009 season.”

2010 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, Schedule
Date | Venue | City
January 9 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif.
January 16 Chase Field Phoenix
January 23 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif.
January 30 AT&T Park San Francisco
February 6 Qualcomm Stadium San Diego
February 13 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif.
February 20 Lucas Oil Stadium Indianapolis
February 27 Georgia Dome Atlanta
March 6 Daytona Int’l Speedway Daytona, Fla.*
March 13 Rogers Centre Toronto, ON
March 20 Cowboy Stadium Arlington, Texas
March 27 Jacksonville Municipal Stadium Jacksonville
April 10 Reliant Stadium Houston
April 17 Edward Jones Dome St. Louis
April 24 Quest Field Seattle
May 1 Rice-Eccles Salt Lake City
May 8 Sam Boyd Stadium Las Vegas

* not a Feld Motor Sports event – this date is independently promoted by Daytona International Speedway and the International Speedway Corp.