Strijbos and Frossard Back On Pole

Kevin Strijbos left his mark on the opening day of the Catalan GP by returning to pole after two troubled seasons paying the Belgian no podiums. Both Strijbos and MX2 qualifying race winner Steven Frossard aim at a podium finish tomorrow.

Antonio Cairoli was leading the MX1 qualifying race before Strijbos but made a couple of mistakes to fall back to second place. Max Nagl was third with Bobryshev and Ramon completing the top five.

In MX2 instead Jeffrey Herlings worked his way up to a final second place ahead of American Zach Osborne. Musquin and Roczen were seventh and eighth respectively while Paulin was tenth at his comeback race.

Jordi Tixier and Benoit Paturel made it a French one-one by winning the respective qualifying races at this second round of the EMX 125 series.

A perfect start granted Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Cairoli the lead of the qualifying race from rivals Strijbos and Ramon both on Suzuki with heavy rain falling on the track right after the moto started. The Italian pulled away to build a comfortable gap in between himself and runner up Strijbos but a slip allowed the Belgian by with four laps to go.

Despite not being in the lead of a race since 2007, the Beursfoon Suzuki MX racer looked comfortable and held on until the chequered flag. Job done for Strijbos, taking his first Lovemytime MX1 Pole Position Award and to start from pole tomorrow. Cairoli instead tried to recover and take back the lead but a crash made him settle for an eventual second.

Battling for third, Ramon and Nagl tangled up with Albertson, who had crashed moments before the two arrived. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Nagl was able to restart quickly and put an end to his recovery by taking third. Ramon of Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1 instead struggled to get back into the race and dropped to an eventual fifth behind CAS Honda’s Bobryshev.

The winner of the previous GP in Portugal Desalle took ninth. Albertson instead crashed and dislocated his left shoulder, which is a big blow with his home GP in the USA just two weeks away.
Aranda was out at the opening lap with a broken leg while other American Laninovich qualified in 28th.

MX1 Qualifying Race top ten: 1. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 25:57.676; ; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:23.833; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:42.644; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:46.534; 5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:52.839; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:55.773; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +1:05.317; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +1:17.426; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +1:21.548; 10. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:27.341;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.