AMA Supercross Legends to Assist in Design Efforts on Six Monster Energy® Supercross Tracks

Feld Motor Sports announced today that six AMA Supercross legends have been selected to assist in the design process for six 2009 Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race tracks.

Seven-time AMA Supercross champion Jeremy McGrath will help design the Anaheim 3 race track at Angel Stadium. Two-time AMA Supercross champion Ricky Johnson will help design the course at San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium. Five-time AMA Supercross champion Ricky Carmichael will design the track inside Atlanta’s Georgia Dome. Multi-time AMA National champion Mike LaRocco will help design the track at Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium. Three-time AMA Supercross champion Jeff Stanton will help design the track at Toronto’s Rogers Centre and AMA Supercross Lites class champion Travis Pastrana will help design the track at St. Louis’ Edward Jones Dome.

“We begun using rider-inspired track designs in 2008 season. For 2009, we wanted to put a different spin on our rider-inspired track designs,” said Dave Prater, director of supercross, Feld Motor Sports. “We asked six former AMA Supercross superstars to give us their personal input on specific track designs. In an effort to create variety, we chose riders with distinctly different riding styles. It’s going to be interesting to see how the different tracks fit each rider’s personality.”

Carmichael, who is tied with McGrath for the all-time win record in Atlanta, meticulously designed his track and looks forward to watching an epic race unfold inside the Georgia Dome.

“Designing the race track at the Georgia Dome is a special opportunity because I have enjoyed so much success there in both the AMA Supercross class and AMA Supercross Lites class,” said Carmichael.

The six tracks are can be viewed on
Anaheim 3, track design by Jeremy McGrath:
San Diego, track design by Ricky Johnson:
Atlanta, track design by Ricky Carmichael:
Indianapolis, track design by Mike LaRocco:
St. Louis, track design by Travis Pastrana:
Toronto, track design by Jeff Stanton: