AMA Team USA announced for 2010 International Six Days Enduro

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) is pleased to announce the riders who will contest the 85th International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) for AMA Team USA. The World Trophy Team will headline the U.S. effort. This year, taking on the best off-road racers in the world Nov. 1-6 in Morelia, Michoacan, Mexico, are: Destry Abbott, Mike Brown, Kurt Caselli, Jimmy Jarrett, Timmy Weigand and Nathan Woods.

“With the ISDE in Mexico this year, AMA Team USA is looking forward to competing so close to home, and this is the team that can put us on the box in 2010,” said AMA Off-Road Racing Manager Chuck Weir. “These riders are hungry for success at off-road racing’s crown jewel event, and each one of them is committed to doing what’s necessary to win at this storied international competition.

“Our team announcement was delayed this year due to some international concerns regarding the location,” Weir continued. “However, the Federation International de Motocyclisme, which sanctions this world championship event, recently finalized its report following a site visit. The report found the location suitable for this competition, and we are permitted to proceed. All systems are go for AMA Team USA at the 2010 ISDE.”

The World Trophy Team is one of three premier teams that represent the U.S. at the ISDE. The other premier teams are the Junior Trophy Team, which fields four riders younger than 23-years old, and the Women’s Trophy Team, which fields three riders. In addition, several club team members represent the United States at the event.

The AMA Team USA Junior Trophy Team will include Ian Blythe from Sedalia, Colo.; Cory Buttrick from Logan, Ohio; Nick Fahringer from Englewood, Ohio; and Taylor Robert from Scottsdale, Ariz. Blythe will ride a KTM 250 SXF in the E1 class. Buttrick will ride a KTM 450 XC-W in the E2 class. Fahringer will ride a Husaberg FE450 in the E2 class. Taylor will ride a Yamaha YZ450F in the E2 class.

The AMA Team USA Women’s Cup Team will include Nicole Bradford from Avon, Colo.; Amanda Mastin from Whitehouse, Ohio; and Kerrie Swartz from Moore, Okla. Bradford will compete on a KTM 250 EXC. Mastin will race a Yamaha YZ250F. Swartz will ride a KTM 200 XC. All of the Women’s Cup Team riders will compete in the E2 class.

Although it is not a recognized class by the FIM, AMA Team USA also designates a Senior Club Team of veterans from the club team members. This year, the club team will feature Billy Burns from Dorset, Vt.; Jeff Fredette from Beecher, Ill.; and Donald Williams from Minden, Nev.

Riders at the ISDE compete in one of three displacement classes: the E1 class, which features 100cc to 125cc two-stroke and 175cc to 250cc four-stroke motorcycles; the E2 class, which features 175cc to 250cc two-stroke and 290cc to 450cc four-stroke motorcycles; and the E3 class, which features 290cc to 500cc two-stroke and 475cc to 650cc four-stroke motorcycles.

Veterans anchor World Trophy effort

Abbott, from Peoria, Ariz., is an AMA Team USA veteran and World Trophy Team co-captain. In addition to the ISDE, Abbott contests the AMA Racing National Hare & Hound Championship Series for Monster Energy Kawasaki. The 37-year-old five-time AMA National Hare & Hound Champion is a four-time ISDE Gold Medalist and will represent the U.S. on the Trophy Team for the sixth time. Abbott is competing on a Kawasaki KX450 in the E2 class.

“The ISDE continues to be one of my all-time favorite events,” Abbott said. “I look forward to it every year, and I’m excited to see what we can accomplish as a team. This year’s team is extremely strong, and consists of five riders who know what to expect and what it takes to conquer this event and bring home a gold. Our rookie ISDE guy this year is Mike Brown, whose reputation speaks for itself. I know he’s wanted to compete in the ISDE for a while, and I also know what he’s capable of, so I’m looking forward to seeing what he accomplishes.”

Abbott added that while the team expects to benefit from the event being held in the Americas this year, success will require a strong commitment from everyone involved.

“The fact that the ISDE is being held in Mexico this year has really helped with overall support,” Abbott said. “The manufacturers are 100 percent behind us and believe we can do something special, but it’s still going to be a lot of work and we all need to ride our best. For those who have never had the opportunity to attend, it’s by far one of the coolest events to watch. It’s the closest you’ll ever get to see the best off-road riders in the world, so I’m hoping a lot of Americans try and make it down to support us.”

Caselli, from Palmdale, Calif., is the other co-captain of the World Trophy Team and is returning to the team for the fourth time. The 26-year-old Caselli, who races off-road events for the KTM/FMF Racing factory team, has placed the ISDE near the top of his racing program the past few years. Caselli will race a KTM 250 EXC in the E1 class.

Caselli battled for the overall lead at the 2008 ISDE before crashing out on day three. In 2007, Caselli also led a significant portion of the event before ultimately winning the E3 class. In 2006, Caselli was a member of the championship Junior Trophy Team.

Brown, from Bluff City, Tenn., is a new rider this year. Brown, who currently competes in off-road events for the FMF/KTM factory team, is an accomplished national-caliber motocross racer. Brown won the AMA 125cc National Motocross Championship title in 2001. Brown will race a KTM 250 EXC in the E1 class.

Weigand, from Santa Clarita, Calif., replaced an injured Woods on AMA Team USA in 2009 and returns to the team for the second time. Weigand rides for Johnny Campbell Racing and is the 2009 AMA Racing Western Regional Hare Scrambles Champion. Weigand will race a Honda CRF450R in the E2 class.

Jarrett, from Salem, Ohio, also brings several years of experience to the team. Jarrett races the GNCC Series for GEICO Monster Kawasaki. This will be the Ohioan’s sixth year representing the U.S. on the Trophy Team. Jarrett will race a Kawasaki KX450 in the E2 class.

This will be second trip to the ISDE for the 30-year-old Woods, who races WORCS for Team FMF Suzuki and competes in the AMA Endurocross series. Woods, from Paso Robles, Calif., will race a Husaberg FE570 in the E3 class.

Club teams out in force

While the Trophy Team, the Women’s Trophy Team and the Junior Trophy Team are critical pieces of the U.S. effort, they are only a part of the AMA Team USA contingent that makes the trek to the annual event. Club team riders also will ride on the team.

The following riders were selected as club team members: Michael Berenbak from Reno, Nev.; Chase Bishop from Monterey, Tenn.; Jordan Brandt from Boulder Creek, Colo.; Sam Buffa from Brooklyn, N.Y.; Fred Hoess from Stanhope, N.J.; Nolan Irwin from Santa Rosa, Calif.; Jeremy Ketchum from Gallatin, Tenn.; Zachary Klamfoth from Canal Winchester, Ohio; Mike Monroe from Helena, Ala.; Duell Murphy from Huntington, Ind.; Wallace Palmer from Mullica Hill, N.J.; Cory Pincock from Pleasant View, Utah; Cody Schafer from Wheat Ridge, Colo.; Anthony Simontacchi from Rohnert Park, Calif.; Brian Sperle from Hayward, Calif.; Shawn Strong from Alpine, Utah; Jarkko Vainio from Park City, Utah; and Lars O. Valin from Eureka, Mo.

The AMA Team USA ISDE effort would be impossible without the support of various companies. These include Arai, Spectro, Motion Pro and KLIM.

America’s motorcyclists can help support Team USA, and look good while doing it, by buying an official Team USA ISDE T-Shirt. All proceeds support the massive effort to transport the riders, bikes and crew to and from Portugal. To buy a shirt, just visit the AMA’s online store at > Gear > Apparel > 2010 ISDE T-shirt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.