Cairoli Storms Back to Victory in Sweden

MX1 Championship leader Antonio Cairoli marked his comeback to victory in Sweden courtesy of two moto wins right before the start of the FIM Motocross World Championship’s summer break. In the MX2 class instead the event marked Steven Frossard’s maiden victory after a battle with Ken Roczen in both heats.

Clement Desalle took two second places for second overall ahead of team mate Steve Ramon, putting together two solid moto’s and finishing ahead of Evgeny Bobryshev.

In the MX2 class Jeffrey Herlings took second on the podium while Gautier Paulin completed the top three at his first podium appearance of 2010. Roczen instead won the final heat but a technical problem ruled him out of heat one when he was chasing Frossard for first.

In the EMX 125 class Jordi Tixier came back to victory and reinforced his Championship lead. The Swedish podium was completed by Stefan Olsen and Samuele Bernardini.


Taking victory number four of 2010, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Cairoli walked away from Sweden with an extended Championship lead. The Italian, who won both heats, is now 67 points ahead of Desalle whom he passed for the lead of moto two after having dominated the opening moto.

The Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1 Team completed the overall podium and now looks forward to their home Grand Prix in Lommel, Belgium, coming up next on the August 1 weekend.

Desalle was second overall and collected his fifth consecutive podium. The winner of the last GP in Latvia recovered to second in the opening moto and was again second in the final moto, which he was leading until a hard charging Cairoli moved past him and pulled away.

Ramon mounted on the third step of the podium after a solid final moto. The Belgian, who missed this GP last year due to a neck injury, was close to Desalle towards the end of the heat but decided to settle for an eventual safe third. In moto one instead Ramon was fourth.

Once again CAS Honda’s Bobryshev missed his first podium by a bunch of points. The Russian already came close to the podium in Latvia and today took another fourth overall after he made a mistake in the final moto, when he tried to move past Desalle for second. He was an eventual fourth in the second moto and fifth in the first one.

Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Philippaerts completed the top five. After a good third place in the opening moto, the Italian had a bad start to moto two and struggled to recover.

Nagl was sixth ahead of Boog while SÃderstrm was the best placed home rider with 14th overall. Boissiere was 15th in the standings but a head concussion following a second moto crash ruled him out of the final heat.

17th was Guarneri who crashed in both moto’s after taking good starts.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:45.425; ; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:04.040; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:06.051; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.916; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:30.542; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:32.808; 7. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Honda), +1:00.576; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +1:01.791; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:03.015; 10. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), +1:17.633;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:13.172; ; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:02.543; 3. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:04.460; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:12.697; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:13.589; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:23.023; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:32.242; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:50.995; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +0:53.035; 10. Rui Gonçalves (POR, KTM), +1:01.965;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 44 p.; 3. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 38 p.; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 34 p.; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 33 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 30 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 27 p.; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Honda), 23 p.; 10. Rui Gonçalves (POR, KTM), 20 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 434 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 367 p.; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 331 p.; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 315 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 306 p.; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 276 p.; 7. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 269 p.; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 223 p.; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 219 p.; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 196 p.;

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 463 points; 2. Suzuki, 417 p.; 3. Yamaha, 384 p.; 4. Honda, 323 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 303 p.; 6. Aprilia, 148 p.; 7. TM, 145 p.; 8. CCM, 11 p.; 9. Husqvarna, 4 p.;