Geoff Aaron Gets His First EnduroCross Main Event Win In Columbus Ohio

Geoff Aaron, the ten time National Enduro champion has competed in all but one Geico EnduroCross events over the past five years and has come close to winning a main event several times. Tonight, the Christini KTM rider finally made it to the top step of the podium by out dueling Red Bull KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak. Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker earned the final podium spot over a stacked field that included Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Damon Huffman in fourth and current National Trials Champion, Patrick Smage in fifth.

The day started with Taddy Blazusiak setting the fastest lap time during the afternoon qualifying session, which puts the riders on the track by themselves for a single hot lap to determine heat race starting positions. Mike Brown, his KTM teammate set the second fastest time followed by Patrick Smage, the current AMA Trials champion. Aaron and Huffman rounded out the top five.

Colton Haaker collected the $500 Girardi Wealth Management holeshot award and led until he got stuck in a tricky rock turn, which allowed Aaron and Blazusiak to pass him. At that point, Blazusiak went to work on Aaron, who is known for riding a steady if not blazing pace. At about the halfway point, Blazusiak made the pass for the lead and then almost as quickly, handed it right back to Aaron by crashing in the loose wood section affectionately called the “wood pile”. Blazusiak remounted quickly but had a six second gap to try to close on Aaron with three laps remaining. He managed to close it to two seconds but it was Aaron that finally won his first ever Geico EnduroCross main event and celebrated with a huge trials style front wheel wheelie.

Blazusiak still holds a commanding lead in the points over Aaron and Damon Huffman. Husqvarna’s Cory Grafunder holds a narrow three point lead over Colton Haaker in the chase for the E3 Spark Plugs’ EnduroCross Pro Junior Championship, the series within a series that allows riders aged 16-21 compete for an AMA number one plate.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ricky Dietrich returned to action after missing two events due to an injured foot. He had a rough night and had to go all the way to the Last Chance Qualifier in order to qualify for the main event, where he finished tenth.

Columbus, OH Geico AMA EnduroCross Expert Main Event Results
1. Geoff Aaron Christini KTM
2. Taddy Blazusiak KTM
3. Colton Haaker Kawasaki
4. Damon Huffman Kawasaki
5. Patrick Smage KTM
6. Cory Graffunder Husqvarna
7. Mike Brown KTM
8. Gary Sutherlin Husqvarna
9. Kyle Redmund Yamaha
10. Ricky Dietrich Kawasaki
11. Jason Raines Yamaha

Denver Colorado will host round four of the 2009 GEICO EnduroCross Series presented by E3 Spark Plugs on Saturday, October 24th. Denver will also serve as round two of the three event Geico Powersports Triple Crown, that will award Taddy Blazusiak $50,000 if he can win this round in addition to the Oklahoma round that he already won and the Vegas final on November 21st. Tickets are available at