Interesting Statistical Data For Atlanta Supercross

AMA Supercross Class Notes:
First race: March 5th, 1977 and Bob Hannah won on a Yamaha.
This will be the 30th time the gate will drop for an AMA Supercross class race in Atlanta.
First time winners in Atlanta: Bob Hannah-1977, Chuck Sun-1980, Jeff Stanton-1989, Damon Huffman-1997.
Yamaha won the first race in Atlanta in 1977. It was held at the old Fulton County Stadium. In 1992, Damon Bradshaw (Yamaha) won the last AMA Supercross race Fulton County Stadium. In 1993, the race was moved to the Georgia dome where Damon Bradshaw once again on a Yamaha earned the win.
Wins by Brand in Atlanta
Yamaha – 10
Honda – 9
Kawasaki – 6
Suzuki – 4
Atlanta did not host a race in 1987 and 1988.
Riders to win three consecutive races in Atlanta:
Bradshaw in 1991-1993
Jeremy McGrath in 1998-2000
Ricky Carmichael in 2001-2003
Most wins by a rider in Atlanta:
Damon Bradshaw-3
Ricky Carmichael is the only rider to win in Atlanta on three different brands – Kawasaki, Honda, and Suzuki.
Riders to win in the AMA Supercross and AMA Supercross Lites classes in Atlanta:
Chad Reed and James Stewart
AMA Supercross Class Notables – Houston
Kevin Windham won his 13th AMA Supercross race in Houston. He is now 12th on the all time AMA Supercross win list.
Windham broke Honda’s 53-race winless streak in Houston. Honda’s last win was at Anaheim 1 in 2005 where Kevin Windham scored the victory.
Kevin Windham is in his 11th season of AMA Supercross racing. He has 126 starts, 78 top-5 finishes and 53 podiums.
Reed now has 80 podiums. If he gets one more podium he will be tied with Mike LaRocco for third on the all time AMA Supercross podium list.
Reed and Windham are the only two riders this season not to finish out of the top five.
AMA Supercross Class Stats – Atlanta
First race, February 23, 1985 and Eddie Warren won on a Kawasaki.
This will be the 23rd time the gate will drop for an AMA Supercross L2ites race in Atlanta.
Brian Swink and Ricky Carmichael are the only riders to win back to back Lites races in Atlanta.
Keith Turpin and Ezra Lusk are the only riders from Georgia to win in Atlanta.
Yamaha won five races in a row with five different riders from 99 to 03 in Atlanta.
First ever AMA Supercross Lites East Coast champion was Eddie Warren.
Former Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites champions to go on and win the AMA Supercross championship: Carmichael, Reed, and Stewart.
First non-American rider to win the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites championship was Mickael Pichon from France. Others include: Ernesto Fonseca from Costa Rica, Stephane Roncada from France, Chad Reed from Australia, and Ben Townley from New Zealand.
In 1997, Tim Ferry won the East Coast title without winning a single main event.
Wins by Brand in Atlanta
AMA Supercross Lites Notables – Houston
Austin Stroupe gets won his first AMA Supercross Lites race.
In 18 seasons that Team Pro Circuit has been racing, there has only been one season where they failed to win a single Lites class race.
Stroupe’s win was Pro Circuit’s 88th AMA Supercross Lites class win.
Former Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Champions
1985-Eddie Warren, Kawasaki
1986-Kieth Turpin, Honda
1987-Ron Tichnor, Suzuki
1988-Todd DeHoop, Suzuki
1989-Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1990-Denny Stephenson, Suzuki
1991-Brian Swink, Honda
1992-Brian Swink, Suzuki
1993-Doug Henry, Honda
1994-Ezra Lusk, Suzuki
1995-Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1996-Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1997-Tim Ferry, Suzuki
1998-Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
1999-Ernesto Fonseca, Yamaha
2000-Stephane Roncada, Yamaha
2001-Travis Pastrana, Suzuki
2002-Chad Reed, Yamaha
2003-Branden Jesseman, Suzuki
2004-James Stewart, Kawasaki
2005-Grant Langston, Kawasaki
2006-Davi Millsaps, Honda
2007-Ben Townley ,Kawasaki