Taddy Blazusiak Clinches EnduroCross Championship Title

Red Bull/KTM Factory rider Taddy Blazusiak earned his fourth win of the season and the championship title when he crossed the checkers first at the 5th round of the EnduroCross Series in Denver, CO.

Blazusiak’s day started well when he earned the fastest lap time during the afternoon qualifying session putting him in the number one spot heading to the night show. “I thought everyone was riding well during practice and was happy to come out with the fastest practice time,” commented Blazusiak.

In the main event, Blazusiak nailed the $500 Girardi Wealth Management holeshot award, but did not escape the first lap without pressure. Christini/KTM rider Geoff Aaron managed to get around Blazusiak near the end of the first lap. Blazusiak quickly countered back by jumping over the finish line tire section only to collide with Aaron in the next corner. Blazusiak stayed up while Aaron hit the ground. Back out front, Blazusiak charged forward and took an easy win over the rest of the field to clinch the EnduroCross Championship one round early.

Although Blazusiak holds the EnduroCross Title, there is still a $50,000 bonus for winning all three rounds of the Geico Triple Crown that can be his if he comes out on top at the final round.

Be sure to join KTM and the KTM Ultimate Fan Experience at the final round of the EnduroCross Series in Las Vegas, NV on November 21, 2009. For tickets and more information on the KTM Ultimate Fan Experience Program please email endurocross@ktmusa.com.

Taddy Blazusiak: “I think this was the best race of my life. It went better than I even hoped it would. From setting the fastest Hot Lap to winning my heat to getting the win in the main, just about everything went perfectly. It’s a massive relief to have secured the title before the final in Vegas and I’m so pleased the championship’s mine. Getting the holeshot in the main was exactly what I wanted to do. The track was pretty fast so it was important to be up front early on. I must have changed places with Geoff Aaron about three times during the first lap. I’d been jumping the tyre section all night, which Aaron hadn’t, so I knew it was my chance to pass him. Unfortunately we came together and he went down.

Colton Haaker was riding really well and was with me for a few laps after that. I could see exactly where he was and just kept my own pace. The track was great fun, not too technical and quite fast. I’m so pleased that the championship’s mine. The pressure is off now, which is great because I can really focus on the Indoor Enduro World Cup race this coming weekend now, as well as going to final round of the Endurocross championship in Vegas and just going for it. If I win there I’ll get $50’000, which would be a great end to the series. The important thing is that I have the championship. I have to say a big thank you to all of my sponsors and my mechanic.”

1. Taddy Blazusiak – KTM
2. Colton Haaker
3. Damon Huffman
4. Geoff Aaron – Christini/KTM
5. Kyle Redmond
6. Bobby Prochnau – KTM
7. Jamie Lanza
8. Patrick Smage – KTM
9. Cory Graffunder
10. Cody Webb – KTM
11. Ryan Rodgers