Taddy Blazusiak Makes it Four in a Row

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Taddy Blazusiak remains undefeated in the 2010 AMA EnduroCross Series – continuing his win streak at the first ever Northwest EnduroCross event at the sold out Comcast Arena for the fourth round of the series.

photo:Lukas Nazdraczew

The day started with a series of hot laps from each rider to determine their qualifying order in the heat races. Christini/KTM rider Geoff Aaron earned the fastest lap time taking the first qualifying position followed by Cory Graffunder and Blazusiak. The same three riders won their heat races to take the top qualifying spots into the main event.

When the gate dropped for the main event it was Blazusiak who had a massive holeshot but then ran off the track allowing the entire field to get by. Aaron quickly capitalized on Blazusiak’s error and moved out front to lead the pack. Aaron continued to pull out front while Blazusiak continued to make ground through the pack picking off a couple riders each lap. On the seventh lap FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown was sitting in 3rd place hoping to get his first podium of the season when bad luck struck and he crashed going over the bars losing his podium position. Blazusiak and others benefited from his mistake as they raced past the fallen rider. Shortly after, Blazusiak was able to catch Aaron and make the pass for the lead. Once out front, Blazusiak had a mistake-free race through the finish to collect his fourth win of the year. Aaron went on to finish 2nd overall followed by Gary Sutherlin in 3rd.

Taddy Blazusiak: ‘This was a much more eventful final that at the earlier rounds of the championship, but I got the win again so I’m happy. It was fun having to work my way to the front. The last few races I’ve had good starts and lead from the front – having to think about passing riders made it interesting. It didn’t take me long to get up behind Geoff Aaron and although it took a while to get in front of him once I did everything went well. Apart from my mistake after getting the holeshot the whole night went well. Third fastest in the Hot Laps qualifying session was ok, and then winning my heat race gave me a good pick of the start. Four wins from the first four races is great. There’s a pretty big break now before the fifth round of the championship so I’ll be training hard so I can hopefully win the championship with one race to go.’

Results – Endurocross ’10, Rnd 4
1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM Enduro Factory Team)
2. Geoff Aaron (Christini/KTM)
3. Gary Sutherlin (Kawasaki)
4. Justin Soule (Kawasaki)
5. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)Colton Haaker (Kawasaki)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.